Raghubar Das govt to honour 30 JP movement agitationists

Top Stories
Representational picture courtesyimages.indianexpress.com.
Representational picture courtesyimages.indianexpress.com.

Jharkhand Government led by Chief Minister Raghubar Das has decided to honour and provide facilities to 30 agitationists of the Jai Prakash Narayan movement.

Incidentally the movement launched by students in Bihar(areas covering Jharkhand)in 1974 was led by the veteran Gandhian socialits Jayprakash Narayanin.It was against the then Congress President and Prime Minister Indira Gandhi government at the Centre.

These 30 agitationists were identified by a Commission.Among them 13 agitations who were jailed under the maintenance of Internal Security Act(MISA) and DIR,will get R5000 monthly ‘Samman Pension’ each.

And 14 other agitationists who were jailed for one to six months will get certificate and shield each.The expected facilities will be provided with effect from June 1,2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *