Hemant Soren among 208 candidates in fray in final round of Jharkhand Assembly poll

Top Stories

The polling officials are busy checking EVMs for the Vth and final phase of Assembly election in 16 constituencies on Saturday.

The phate of Chief Minister Hemant Soren will be decided in this phase of poll.Soren,who is contesting from two constituencies-Dumka and Barhait is among 208 candidates in the fray.Among them are 16 women candidates.

As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission,the polling will begin at 7 AM and end at 3 pm in all 16 constituencies. The important candidates in the field are Assembly Speaker Shashank Shekhar Bhokta and Soren’s sister in law Sita Soren.

A total of 36,90,069 including 17,84,486 women voters will cast their votes in this phase of election.Of the 16 seats,nine are general and 7 are reserved for tribals.These seats are:Rajmahakl(ST), Borio(ST), Barhait(ST), Litipara(ST), Pakur, Maheshpur(ST), Sikaripara(ST), Nala, Jamtara, Dumka(ST), Jama(ST), Jarmundi, Sarath, Poreyahat, Godda and Mahagama.

After the poll gets over,the counting of votes are slated rto be hekld on December 23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *