Congress wins by-polls in Nanjangud and Gundlupet

Top Stories

In a morale-boosting electoral triumph, the Congress has won the by-elections to the Legislative Assembly from Nanjangud (reserved) and Gundlupet constituencies in Karnataka.

Kalale Keshavamurthy defeated BJP’s V Srinivas Prasad, a former Minister, in Nanjangud by a margin of 21,334 votes while Geetha Mahadev Prasad, wife of former Minister Mahadev Prasad, who was the Congress candidate in Gundlupet, beat her BJP rival Niranjan Kumar by 10,887 votes.

At the end of 17 rounds of counting of votes in Nanjangud, Mr Keshavamurthy had secured 86,212 votes while Mr Prasad had bagged 64,878 votes. In Gundlupet, Ms Geetha Mahadev Prasad had polled 90,258 votes while Niranjan Kumar secured 79,381 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *